Disable VM Backup

This section describes how to disable an Image Level backup on a virtual machine (VM) when it is protected on Silver-lining Protect.

 

At this time it is not possible to disable agent based backups on VMs via CloudCreator.

 

Steps

Follow these steps to disable a VM backup.

 

1. Navigate to the Compute Overview page. Either:

 

  • Select the Compute tile from the CloudCreator Landing page:

 

  • Or select the Virtual Clouds icon to navigate to the Summary screen for your virtual cloud, and select the Compute tab: 

 

2. The Compute Overview page appears (shown below). Here you can view:

  • All your compute services and the locations you are using them .
  • How many resources you have in location, and their status.
  • The number of individual resources consuming a Silver-lining service, with access to the tool's admin portal.
  • See The Compute Overview Page to find out more. 
     

 

3. Locate the Service Type/Location of the VM you want to remove from protection and click the blue Resource Number next to it.

 

 

4. The Compute Details screen appears. Use the filters or search bar to locate the VM.

 

 

5. Once you have located the VM you want to disable, click the 3 dots at the far right. Then select Backup and Recovery > Disable Backup.

 

 

6. The Disable Backup window appears. Review and select a retention option, then click Disable Backup to confirm. A guide to the long term retention options is set out in the table below. 

 

 

The long term retention options are described below.

 

Option Description

Retain all long term retention data

This is the default option. When disabling a backup, the data associated to the VM is retained as per the retention period configured. Data will age off the primary storage within 30 days. Monthly full backups will age off each month, and yearly fulls will age off each year as per the chosen plan.

 

Ongoing cost: The data on long term retention will be charged for each month for the life of the data.

Delete all long term retention data

This option disables the backup on the VM and removes all data stored for long term retention. It will prevent restoration of data once the data has aged off the primary storage in 30 days' time.

 

Ongoing cost: The VM will stop being charged for in the following month's invoice. 

 

7. Once the disable backup request has been sent, it may take up to 20 minutes before other backup options can be enabled. 

 

8. Request notifications will appear in the following places: 

 

  • At the top of your screen: 

 

 

9. Once the backup has been disabled, the Padlock icon will no longer appear next to the VM. 


 

The page cannot be found

The page you are looking for might have been removed, had its name changed, or is temporarily unavailable. Please make sure you spelled the page name correctly or use the search box.