Modify VM Backup

Once your VM is protected by Silver-lining Protect, you can change the Image Level backup service plan that the server is configured with.  

 

Steps

Follow these steps to modify a VM backup.

 

1. Navigate to the Compute Overview page. Either:

 

  • Select the Compute tile from the CloudCreator Landing page:

 

  • Or select the Virtual Clouds icon to navigate to the Summary screen for your virtual cloud, and select the Compute tab: 

 

2. The Compute Overview page appears (shown below). Here you can view:

  • All your compute services and the locations you are using them .
  • How many resources you have in location, and their status.
  • The number of individual resources consuming a Silver-lining service, with access to the tool's admin portal.
  • See The Compute Overview Page to find out more. 
     

 

3. Locate the Service Type/Location of the VM you want to modify and click the blue Resource Number next to it.

 

 

4. The Compute Details screen appears. Use the filters or search bar to locate the specific VM.  

 

 

5. Once you have located the VM you want to modify, click the 3 dots at the far right, and select Backup and Recovery > Modify Backup.

 

 

6. The Modify VM Backup window appears. This is pre-populated with the VM's current service plan. Use the table below as a guide to reconfigure the data protection options for the VM. Then click Modify.

 

Note: It's not possible to select Modify until one of the options have been changed to something different.

 

 

7. The data protection options are described below.

 

Type Options Description

Service Level
This specifies the frequency of the recovery point objective (RPO) as well as the recovery initiation time for CCL to respond to a recovery request. 

Standard

RPO: Once per day

Recovery Initiation: 4 business hours

Retention: Onsite 30 days

Economy

RPO: Once per week

Recovery Initiation: Next business day

Retention: Onsite 30 days

Premium

RPO: Once every 4 hours

Recovery Initiation: 1 business hour

Retention: Onsite 30 days

Long Term Retention

Select this option if data needs to be kept longer than the default of 30 days. The last full backup of each month will be kept for the extended retention shown. The data is stored on CCL's Vault which is a highly resilient, object based storage system which allows for easy access to long term retention data.

Vault 90 days

Last full backup retained for 90 days on CCL's Vault. 

Vault 1 year

Last full backup retained for 1 year on CCL's Vault.

Vault 7 years

Last full backup retained for 1 year, last full backup of the year stored for 7 years on CCL's Vault.

Vault 10 years

Last full backup retained for 1 year, last full backup of the year stored for 10 years on CCL's Vault. 

Offsite Copy

By default only a single copy of data is kept in one data centre for 30 days. Select Offsite if a second copy is required to be kept in an alternative data centre for 30 days.

Offsite

Provides a second copy of data stored in a different Data Centre.

Retention: Offsite 30 days.

No Offsite

Only one copy of data is retained for 30 days.

 

8. If the data protection plan is changed from one that includes Long Term Retention to a plan that does not, the Modify Backup window will appear.

 

Review and select a retention option, then click Modify Backup. A guide to the long term retention options is set out in the table below.

 

 

The long term retention options are described below.

 

Option Description
Retain all long term retention data

This is the default option. When disabling a backup, the data associated to the VM is retained as per the retention period configured. Data will age off the primary storage within 30 days. Monthly full backups will age off each month, and yearly fulls will age off each year as per the chosen plan.

 

Ongoing cost: The data on long term retention will be charged for each month for the life of the data.

Delete all long term retention data

This option disables the backup on the VM and removes all data stored for long term retention. It will prevent restoration of data once the data has aged off the primary storage in 30 days' time.

 

Ongoing cost: The VM will stop being charged for in the following month's invoice. 

 

9. Once the modify backup request is sent, it may take up to 20 minutes before other backup options can be enabled.

 

10. Request notifications will appear in the following places:

 

  • At the top of your screen: 

 

 

11. To view the updated backup details, see View VM Backup


 

The page cannot be found

The page you are looking for might have been removed, had its name changed, or is temporarily unavailable. Please make sure you spelled the page name correctly or use the search box.